Things Happen For A Reason

I am firm believer that things happen for a reason. What happened this week supports my thought:

Our 32″ TV, which was one of the very 1st flat screen/HD TVs ever on the market that I bought 8yrs ago when I got my apartment in Lincoln Sq, has recently started “flickering” while on….and even more annoyingly, just shuts off in the middle of a program. The issue w/that (aside from being annoying) is that it then won’t always turn back on right away – sometimes it takes just minutes…other times, hours. 😦 So I have slowly been complaining to my partner that we need to invest in buying a new TV for the living room. I finally got her to agree, BUT couldn’t get her to agree on a size upgrade (I say go big or go home!) but she is much more practical. 🙂 (and in her defense, I do have a 50″ in the basement).

So I have been doing my research online….price shopping, etc – anyone that knows me, knows I am all about a bargain! 🙂 I finally find what I think is a good deal – a 32″ Smart TV (HD of course) for less than $300….1080p, etc – all the bells & whistles I have been looking for. I promptly buy it this week from a Big Box Retailer. I get it home, I start unpacking it from the box and take an inventory of what the literature says is included – everything is there EXCEPT the darn power cord! Kind of need that! I call around – NO Chicagoland stores have it in stock….NONE….Zero! I apparently got the last one. Ugh…so I return it with a heavy heart.

I decided to check Craigs List….ya just never know! I find what appears to be a brand new, never been opened, much better quality model being sold by someone that says they received it as a bday gift, but need to sell it to pay for a vet bill for her dog.

Turns out this woman is AMAZING! She runs a small rescue out of her home….only takes the “throw away” dogs…you know, the ones that are too old or too sick or too injured to be adopted out. She has connections with several local vets and gets them all of the medical care they need and and also has a deal w/a local trainer to do rehab work for free! She gets food donated, makes regular trips down to Animal Control to pull dogs from “death row”, has driven across the country to place dogs in good homes….she has just devoted her entire life to saving dogs and trying to make whatever time they have left better.

Back to my original thought in writing this….things happen for a reason. Had I NOT bought that original TV missing the power cord…had that model NOT been out of stock all over Chicagoland….had I NOT taken a chance and looked on Craigs List….I would NOT have met her…..things just happen for a reason….and I am again awed and thankful that they happened the way they did!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things Happen For A Reason

  1. Mav says:

    So how do I meet this woman! 🙂 Mav

Leave a Reply

